Start of Main Content

Academic Committee

The Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies is advised by the Academic Committee of the United States Holocaust Memorial Council. The Academic Committee is composed of experts in the field of Holocaust studies. It is an important resource for the Museum’s programs, aiming to promote research and teaching about the Holocaust into the future.

Committee Members

Wendy Lower (Chair) Claremont McKenna College

Natalia Aleksiun University of Florida

Leora Auslander University of Chicago

Aomar Boum University of California, Los Angeles

Catherine Epstein Amherst College

David Fishman Jewish Theological Seminary

Mary Fulbrook University College London

Alexandra Garbarini Williams College

Dorota Glowacka University of King’s College

Wolf Gruner University of Southern California

Paul Hanebrink Rutgers University

Paul Jaskot Duke University

Laura Jockusch Brandeis University

Steven T. Katz Boston University

Jeffrey Kopstein University of California, Irvine

Thomas Kühne Clark University

William S. Levine Phoenix, AZ

Frederick R. Marcus* Atlanta, GA

Todd Presner University of California, Los Angeles

Alvin H. Rosenfeld Indiana University

Phillip H. Rosenfelt** U.S. Department of Education

George D. Schwab National Committee on American Foreign Policy

Jeffrey Veidlinger University of Michigan

* Member, United States Holocaust Memorial Council  ** Ex-Officio Member, United States Holocaust Memorial Council